Kazan (Volga region) Federal University
Supported by

The Open University

Kazan University


Founded in 1804, the Kazan University is the third oldest university in Russia. An internationally acknowledged centre of academic excellence, it is regularly listed among Russia's top 10 institutions of higher education. The University is a leading national research centre with numerous laboratories, museums, a botanical garden, research field stations, three astronomic observatories and many other facilities. The university has over 40,000 full-time students, who follow 180 major degree programs.

The university prides itself on the following breakthrough inventions and discoveries: the creation of the non-Euclidean geometry (Nikolai Lobachevsky), the discovery of the chemical element Ruthenium (Karl Ernst Claus), the theory of organic compounds structure (Aleksandr Butlerov), the discovery of the electron paramagnetic resonance (Yevgeny Zavoisky) and the acoustic paramagnetic resonance (Semen Altshuler), and many others.

Golden sponsors


Bronze sponsors